Embargo: Tuesday 9 July 2024, 14:00 CEST

Outstanding scientists elected to EMBO Membership

In EMBO's 60th anniversary year, 100 new Members and 20 Associate Members join the community

120 scientists from across Europe and beyond have been elected to the EMBO Membership, an honour that celebrates research excellence and outstanding achievements in the life sciences.

The new EMBO Members and Associate Members have been recognized for accomplishments that cover the spectrum of life science research, including work that has advanced understanding of how infectious disease spreads, the intricacies of ocean nutrient cycles, the mysteries of cellular signalling networks, the secrets of how plants survive in desert environments, and the links between the biology of our brains and our emotions.

EMBO Director Fiona Watt said: "The new EMBO Members and Associate Members have made immense contributions to fundamental life science research, and, in many cases, their work has paved the way for innovations that have improved lives and livelihoods around the world. As EMBO marks its 60th anniversary, we celebrate the pivotal roles played by the EMBO Membership in strengthening international life science research and contributing to the EMBO Programmes and activities. I send my warmest congratulations to all those elected."

To celebrate EMBO's 60th anniversary, EMBO Council invited the EMBO Membership to elect 100 new EMBO Members and 20 EMBO Associate Members this year. The newly elected Members and Associate Members reside in 37 countries/territories. The new EMBO Members are based in 24 Member States of the EMBC, the intergovernmental organization that funds the main EMBO Programmes and activities. The 20 new Associate Members reside in 13 different countries/territories, including EMBO's global cooperation partners.

The first EMBO Members were elected in 1964 – that initial group of 169 life scientists has now grown into a community of more than 2,100 EMBO Members and Associate Members. 92 Nobel laureates are amongst those who have previously been elected to the EMBO Membership.

EMBO Members guide the execution of the EMBO Programmes and activities, for example by evaluating funding applications, serving on EMBO Council and committees, and contributing to initiatives such as training, policy, outreach and mentorship. New members are nominated and elected by the existing EMBO Membership.

EMBO will formally welcome the new members at a meeting of the EMBO community between 29 October and 1 November 2024 in Heidelberg, Germany. An online directory listing all EMBO Members and Associate Members, their affiliations, and subject areas is available here.

Selected statistics

- 120 outstanding life scientists have been elected to the EMBO Membership, comprising 100 EMBO Members and 20 EMBO Associate Members.
- The new EMBO Members and Associate Members reside in 37 different countries/territories.
- 49 of the 120 new Members and Associate Members are women (41%) and 71 are men (59%).

The full list of the newly elected Members and Associate Members of EMBO is, in alphabetical order:

New EMBO Members

David J. Adams	Hinxton, UK
Asaph Aharoni	Rehovot, IL
Ariel Amir	Rehovot, IL
Pavel V. Baranov	Cork, IE
Wendy S. Barclay	London, UK
Allison J. Bardin	Paris, FR
Eduard Batlle	Barcelona, ES
Oded Béjà	Haifa, IL
Pedro Beltrao	Zürich, CH
Oliver Billker	Umeå, SE
Valérie Borde	Paris, FR
Joshua M. Brickman	Copenhagen, DK

Silvia Bulgheresi	Vienna, AT
Megan R. Carey	Lisbon, PT
Susana M. Coelho	Tübingen, DE
Lucia Colombo	Milan, IT
Alessandro Costa	London, UK
Vincenzo Costanzo	Milan, IT
László Csanády	Budapest, HU
George Davey Smith	Bristol, UK
Christos Delidakis	Heraklion, GR
Ádám Dénes	Budapest, HU
Stefan Diez	Dresden, DE
Guillaume Duménil	Paris, FR
Myrielle Dupont-Rouzeyrol	Nouméa, FR
Arnaud Echard	Paris, FR
Maria Falkenberg	Gothenburg, SE
Elif Nur Firat-Karalar	Istanbul, TR
Uri Frank	Galway, IE
Jonathan Gershenzon	Jena, DE
René Geurts	Wageningen, NL
Angela Giangrande	Illkirch, FR
Sebastian Glatt	Kraków, PL
Nadine Gogolla	Munich, DE
Nick Goldman	Cambridge, UK
Inbal Goshen	Jerusalem, IL
Nir S. Gov	Rehovot, IL
Ita Gruic-Sovulj	Zagreb, HR
Ilona C. Grunwald Kadow	Bonn, DE
Georg Halder	Leuven, BE
Olivier Hamant	Lyon, FR
Ricardo Henriques	Oeiras, PT
Martin W. Hetzer	Klosterneuburg, AT
Susan P. Holmes	Stanford, US
Martin Howard	Norwich, UK
<u> </u>	

Juha Huiskonen	Helsinki, FI
Denis Jabaudon	Geneva, CH
Martin Jínek	Zürich, CH
Marko Kaksonen	Geneva, CH
Ewelina Knapska	Warsaw, PL
Lumir Krejci	Brno, CZ
Nick Lane	London, UK
Claudia Langenberg	London, UK
Zdeněk Lánský	Prague, CZ
Tuuli Lappalainen	Stockholm, SE
Melissa H. Little, AC	Copenhagen, DK
Ingrid Lohmann	Heidelberg, DE
Sally Lowell	Edinburgh, UK
Wenbo Ma	Norwich, UK
Ivan Matić	Cologne, DE
Zoltán Molnár	Oxford, UK
Anna Moroni	Milan, IT
László G. Nagy	Szeged, HU
Kathy K. Niakan	Cambridge, UK
Mats Nilsson	Stockholm, SE
Ruth Nussinov	Frederick, US
Snezhana Oliferenko	London, UK
Rui F. Oliveira	Lisbon, PT
Isabel M Palacios	London, UK
Philippe Pasero	Montpellier, FR
Silvia Pastoreková	Bratislava, SK
Nenad Pavin	Zagreb, HR
Arturas Petronis	Vilnius, LT
Corné M.J. Pieterse	Utrecht, NL
Benjamin Podbilewicz	Haifa, IL
Gabriele Procaccini	Naples, IT
Britta Qualmann	Jena, DE
Emma L. Rawlins	Cambridge, UK
Jochen C. Rink	Göttingen, DE

Asya Rolls	Haifa, IL
Owen J. Sansom	Glasgow, UK
Mikhail M. Savitski	Heidelberg, DE
Paola Scaffidi	Milan, IT
Mónica M. Sousa	Porto, PT
Maria Grazia Spillantini	Cambridge, UK
Tanja Stadler	Basel, CH
Ulrich Technau	Vienna, AT
Aleksandra Trifunovic	Cologne, DE
Leoš Shivaya Valášek	Prague, CZ
Jacco van Rheenen	Amsterdam, NL
Teva Vernoux	Lyon, FR
John Vontas	Heraklion, GR
Steven West	Exeter, UK
Jonathan R. Whitlock	Trondheim, NO
Joachim Wittbrodt	Heidelberg, DE
Emre Yaksi	Trondheim, NO
Karina Yaniv	Rehovot, IL
Leonie S. Young	Dublin, IE
Peijun Zhang	Oxford, UK
Alena Zíková	České Budějovice, CZ

New EMBO Associate Members

Karen Adelman	Boston, US
Dominique C. Bergmann	Stanford, US
Helen M. Blau	Stanford, US
Miguel L. Concha	Santiago, CL
Rodrigo A. Gutiérrez	Santiago, CL
Luis Herrera-Estrella	Irapuato, MX
Oliver Hobert	New York, US
Erika L.F. Holzbaur	Philadelphia, US
Gou Young Koh	Daejeon, KR
Rong Li	Singapore, SG

James C. Liao	Taipei, TW
Tak Wah Mak	Toronto, CA
Moustapha Mbow	Dakar, SN
Hozumi Motohashi	Sendai, JP
Zihe Rao	Beijing, CN
Aviv Regev	South San Francisco, US
Shubha Tole	Mumbai, IN
Pablo Wappner	Buenos Aires, AR
Zhenbiao Yang	Shenzhen, CN
Alpha S. Yap	Brisbane, AU